top of page

MBC Brain Mets





July 27, 2024


It will be 21 years next month since I was diagnosed with a brain metastasis in August 2003. I was 36 years old and going through my 4th breast cancer diagnoses.


To treat the tumor, I received Stereotactic Radiosurgery (SRS) for the lesion in the right lateral cerebellum, which measured 2.0 x 0.9 cm in size and spaced 6.5 mm apart. The edema extended over an area of 3 cm in maximum diameter.


17 years later from my SRS procedure, I started experiencing headaches which resulted from necrosis. As a result of the massive brain swelling, I had a craniotomy to remove scar tissue that released the swelling in February 2021.


My body went through changes like weight gain, learning how to walk with confidence again, a few falls, and according to my daughters, a little memory and hearing loss, but that’s just their diagnosis. I am here, still pressing forward in my new body. I’m grateful! ~Terlisa Sheppard



Comments


bottom of page