top of page

When Cancer Returned Several Times...




As an early-staged breast cancer survivor, once I reached a “cancer-free” status, I did not think cancer would return. Oh, was I wrong with this thought process! I was so young and naive about metastatic breast cancer.


In my mind, I was cured of cancer. I endured the initial chemotherapy, radiation, and surgery. I was only 31 years old at diagnosis and have a vibrant life ahead of me!


I was pregnant at diagnosis and already had a two-year-old daughter. So, soon after my treatment, I had two babies! I was very busy. My family and my career were ready to get back on track. There was no time for any setbacks. Life was back to normal. My cancer diagnosis was now a thing of the past.


Less than two years later, I started experiencing back pain. I quickly brushed it off as pain or soreness from lifting my young daughters. Plus, it had been a busy year at work.


My job temporarily sent me out of state for duty. After being away from my daughters for two weeks, I realized my pain was still present and getting worse.


I wasn’t due for my 6-months follow-up appointment until that December. But now there seem to be some urgency to get me into my oncologist immediately.


November 17, 2001... a date I will never forget. That day my oncologist told me my back pain symptoms were stemming from metastatic breast cancer. The cancer had already spread to my bones, lungs, and liver. Yes, it had returned with a vengeance! I was told to go home and get my affairs in order. I was only 34. This shouldn’t be happening!


My seemingly “cured early-stage” diagnosis was now metastatic! Despite taking good care of myself during my recovery and beyond, a cancer recurrence can happen to any survivor. How? Some cancerous cells can remain undetected in our bodies despite our many efforts to find and get rid of them. These cells have been known to grow and cause symptoms like I was experiencing. I just hadn’t realized an easily explained back pain was a warning signal that my cancer was back.


Metastatic breast cancer caused me to abruptly take an early retirement from my job. I needed to focus on the long road ahead of me. And despite the odds, I wanted to survive for the long-haul. Thinking of my daughters, I just couldn’t give up and let cancer take me.


The treatments were very aggressive, once every week for several months. Yet, they were no match for the cancer. Within the next two years, it appeared in my spine, abdomen, and brain. Cancer had returned, invading other parts of my body.


Today, I am fortunate. My ongoing treatments have worked for my now 20-year metastatic diagnosis. The journey hasn’t been easy. There have been many long, treacherous moments. But getting to be with my two babies as they have grown into amazing human beings, has made the journey joyful despite cancer.


My advice to all cancer survivors is, “Be aware of any enduring symptoms. Don’t take them lightly. Be your best advocate!”

Comments


bottom of page